Other lease-to-own companies
Like Okinus, these companies buy the item from the retailer and lease it to you. None of them gives you cash, and each works only at stores it partners with.
| Company | Approval amounts | Standard term to own | Early purchase | Not available in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Okinus | Typical max about $8,000 | Up to 24 months | Any time; you must ask | Not all states (list not published) |
| Progressive Leasing | Not stated on the page we checked | 12 months | 90-day and other options; cost more than cash price except the 3-month option in CA | MN, NJ, VT, WI, WY |
| Acima | $300 – $5,000 | 12 months | Discount for buying early; you must ask | MN, NJ, WI (one disclaimer also lists WY) |
| Snap Finance | $300 – $5,000 | Varies by product | Varies by product | Varies by product and state |
| Koalafi | Up to $7,500 (lease) | Not stated on the page we checked | Purchase options vary | Not stated on the page we checked |
Compare one at a time: Okinus vs. Progressive · Okinus vs. Acima · Okinus vs. Snap · Okinus vs. Koalafi
Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Acima: How it works; Snap Finance: How it works; Koalafi

How their requirements differ
Okinus
18 or older with a checking account. Okinus says there’s no minimum income requirement.
Progressive Leasing
18 or older, an active checking account and an SSN or ITIN. Says it makes only soft inquiries with the major bureaus.
Acima
Active checking account, at least $750 monthly income with three months’ history, photo ID and SSN or TIN.
Snap Finance
18 or older, a checking account and steady monthly income of at least $750 or $1,000, depending on product.
Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Okinus: Legal: service agreement and terms; Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Acima: How it works; Snap Finance: How it works
Alternatives that aren’t leases
Buy now, pay later
The CFPB describes pay-in-four BNPL as interest-free credit repaid in four parts, usually with the first paid up front. Good for smaller purchases you can repay quickly. Lease-to-own vs. BNPL.
Credit union loans
PAL I loans of $200–$1,000 and PAL II loans of up to $2,000, with APRs capped under NCUA rules.
Installment loans
Cash you can spend at any store, repaid in fixed payments with a clear APR. How they work.
Layaway or saving up
No fees or interest at many stores. You get the item once it’s paid for.
Some lease-to-own brands also offer loans: Snap offers bank installment loans through a partner bank, and Koalafi offers loans issued by The Bank of Missouri.
Sources: CFPB study details the rapid growth of Buy Now, Pay Later lending; Payday Alternative Loans (PALs) rule; NCUA approves additional payday loan alternative (PAL II); Snap Finance: How it works; Koalafi
Which alternative fits your situation
| If you… | Consider |
|---|---|
| Need an item now and have little or no credit | Lease-to-own. Compare the total cost to own at each company the store offers. |
| Can repay a smaller purchase within a few weeks | Buy now, pay later, if you qualify. See lease-to-own vs. BNPL. |
| Need money for a bill, not an item | A cash loan. See emergency loans. |
| Want a fixed APR to compare | An installment or personal loan. |
| Can wait to get the item | Layaway or saving up costs the least. |
How to compare any two options
- Write down the item’s cash price.
- For each option, add up every payment plus any up-front amount.
- Check the early purchase or payoff terms, and the deadline for any short window.
- Look for optional add-ons such as damage waivers, and leave out the ones you don’t need.
- Choose the option with the lowest total you can afford, not the lowest payment.
Our lease cost calculator works for any lease-to-own quote.
Common questions
What is similar to Okinus?
Progressive Leasing, Acima, Snap Finance and Koalafi all offer lease-to-own programs through partner retailers. Which ones you can use depends on the store.
Sources: Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Acima: How it works; Snap Finance: How it works; KoalafiIs Acima or Progressive better than Okinus?
It depends on the store and your agreement. Compare the total cost to own, the early purchase terms and the requirements of each option the store offers. Their published standard terms are 12 months to ownership; Okinus leases run up to 24 months.
Sources: Acima: How it works; Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Okinus: Consumer FAQsWhich lease-to-own company has the highest approval amount?
Among the published figures we checked, Okinus describes a typical maximum of about $8,000 and Koalafi says up to $7,500 for leases. Acima and Snap list up to $5,000. Your own approval depends on your application.
Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Koalafi; Acima: How it works; Snap Finance: How it worksIs there a lease-to-own company that gives cash?
No. Lease-to-own companies pay the retailer for merchandise. If you need cash, you need a loan.
Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Acima: How it worksSources
Checked October 14, 2026
- Consumer FAQs, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
- Legal: service agreement and terms, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
- Progressive Leasing purchase options, Dell (Progressive Leasing retailer). Checked October 14, 2026.
- How it works, Acima. Checked October 14, 2026.
- How it works, Snap Finance. Checked October 14, 2026.
- Lease-to-own and lending solutions, Koalafi. Checked October 14, 2026.
- CFPB study details the rapid growth of Buy Now, Pay Later lending, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Checked October 14, 2026.
- Payday Alternative Loans (PALs) rule, National Credit Union Administration. Checked October 14, 2026.
- NCUA approves additional payday loan alternative (PAL II), Orrick InfoBytes. Checked October 14, 2026.