Lease-to-own comparison

Okinus vs. Progressive Leasing

Both are lease-to-own, not loans, and both buy the item and lease it to you. The biggest published differences: Progressive’s standard agreement runs 12 months and it advertises a 90-day purchase option, while Okinus leases run up to 24 months and Okinus describes a higher typical approval of about $8,000. Which you can use depends on the store.

Updated October 14, 2026 · Facts checked against official sources

Side by side

From each company’s own site or a retailer’s published disclosure. Checked October 14, 2026. Terms change; confirm before you apply.
OkinusProgressive Leasing
What it isLease-purchase agreement. Okinus says it does not provide conventional loans.Lease-to-own (also branded Prog Lease)
Approval amountsTypical maximum about $8,000; minimum lease $300Not stated on the pages we checked; $300 minimum purchase at one retailer
Standard term to ownUp to 24 months12 months
Early purchaseAny time, but not automatic; you call or chat to use an early purchase option90-day and other early purchase options; these cost more than the cash price, except the 3-month option in California
Initial payment$0, $49.95 or the first payment, depending on retailer and itemNot stated on the pages we checked
Requirements18 or older with a checking account; no minimum income18 or older (19 in Alabama), SSN or ITIN, a checking account and a credit or debit card
Credit checksNot based on credit score, but applying authorizes consumer reports; reports to Equifax and TransUnionObtains information from credit bureaus; says it makes only soft inquiries with the three major bureaus
Not available inNot available in all states (list not published)MN, NJ, VT, WI, WY
Other productsBreeze Lease Purchase for HVAC and water heatersNot covered here

Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Okinus: How It Works; Okinus: Legal: service agreement and terms; Breeze Lease Purchase; Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Progressive Leasing terms (Value City Furniture)

The key differences

  • Term length

    Progressive’s standard agreement is 12 months to ownership. Okinus leases run for up to 24 months, which can mean smaller payments but a longer commitment.

  • Early purchase

    Progressive advertises a 90-day purchase option, though it says the 90-day and other early options cost more than the cash price (except the 3-month option in California). Okinus says you can buy early at any time, but you must ask.

  • Credit checks

    Progressive says it only makes soft inquiries with the major bureaus. Okinus says applying authorizes it to obtain consumer reports, and it reports payments to Equifax and TransUnion.

  • Requirements

    Progressive asks for an SSN or ITIN and a credit or debit card in addition to a checking account. Okinus lists age 18+ and a checking account, with no minimum income.

Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Okinus: How It Works; Okinus: Legal: service agreement and terms; Breeze Lease Purchase; Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Progressive Leasing terms (Value City Furniture)

What they have in common

  • Neither gives you cash. The company buys the item from the store and leases it to you.
  • You don’t own the item until you pay in full or use an early purchase option.
  • The total usually costs more than the cash price. Compare the total cost to own, not the payment.
  • “No credit needed” doesn’t mean no credit information. Both use information from credit bureaus or consumer reporting agencies.
  • Both work only at partner stores. The store you shop at often decides which one you can use.
Compare the same itemAsk for a written quote from each option your store offers, then put both into our lease cost calculator.

Which one to choose

Okinus may fit better if…

  • Your store offers Okinus and not Progressive.
  • You need a larger approval for a bigger purchase.
  • You prefer a longer term with smaller payments, and plan to buy out early.
  • You want an HVAC or water heater lease (through Breeze).

Progressive Leasing may fit better if…

  • Your store offers Progressive.
  • You can buy out within the 90-day window.
  • You want a shorter 12-month path to ownership.
  • You want an application that uses soft inquiries only.

Need cash rather than an item?

Lease-to-own companies pay the store, not you. For a bill like rent, a car repair or a medical cost, you need a loan. See emergency loans or installment loans, or request loan options below.

Common questions

Is Progressive Leasing the same as Okinus?

No. They are separate lease-to-own companies that work with different retailers. Both lease merchandise rather than lending cash.

Sources: Progressive Leasing terms (Dell); Okinus: How It Works

Does Progressive Leasing have a 90-day option?

Yes. Progressive advertises 90-day and other early purchase options, and says they cost more than the retailer’s cash price except for the 3-month option in California.

Source: Progressive Leasing terms (Dell)

Does Progressive check credit?

Progressive says it obtains information from credit bureaus but makes only soft inquiries with the three major bureaus.

Source: Progressive Leasing terms (Dell)

Which is cheaper, Okinus or Progressive?

Neither publishes standard prices. Compare the total cost to own in each agreement, and the cost of buying early, for the same item.

Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Progressive Leasing terms (Dell)

Sources

Checked October 14, 2026
  1. Consumer FAQs, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
  2. How It Works, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
  3. Legal: service agreement and terms, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
  4. Breeze Lease Purchase, Breeze Lease Purchase (a division of Okinus Credit Solutions). Checked October 14, 2026.
  5. Progressive Leasing purchase options, Dell (Progressive Leasing retailer). Checked October 14, 2026.
  6. Lease-to-own with Progressive Leasing, Value City Furniture (Progressive Leasing retailer). Checked October 14, 2026.