Lease-to-own comparison

Okinus vs. Koalafi

Both are lease-to-own providers working through retailers, and Koalafi also offers bank loans. Koalafi lists lease approvals up to $7,500 and, at least at some retailers, a 90-day early purchase option. Okinus describes a typical maximum of about $8,000 and lets you buy early at any time, but you must ask.

Updated October 14, 2026 · Facts checked against official sources

Side by side

From each company’s own site or a retailer’s published disclosure. Checked October 14, 2026. Terms change; confirm before you apply.
OkinusKoalafi
What it isLease-purchase agreement. Okinus says it does not provide conventional loans.Lease-to-own, plus loans issued by The Bank of Missouri
Approval amountsTypical maximum about $8,000; minimum lease $300Up to $7,500 (lease); items must total more than $200
Standard term to ownUp to 24 monthsNot stated on the pages we checked
Early purchaseAny time, but not automatic; you call or chat to use an early purchase option90-day early purchase option at one retailer (92 days minimum in CA); payments must be on time
Initial payment$0, $49.95 or the first payment, depending on retailer and itemA hold of $49 or less on your debit card becomes the initial payment (at one retailer)
Requirements18 or older with a checking account; no minimum incomeNot fully stated on the pages we checked
Credit checksNot based on credit score, but applying authorizes consumer reports; reports to Equifax and TransUnionPerforms a credit check; on-time payments may help build credit
Not available inNot available in all states (list not published)Not stated on the pages we checked; details vary by state
Other productsBreeze Lease Purchase for HVAC and water heatersLoans issued by The Bank of Missouri, serviced by Koalafi

Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Okinus: How It Works; Okinus: Legal: service agreement and terms; Breeze Lease Purchase; Koalafi; Koalafi terms (Flynn’s Tire)

The key differences

  • Approval amounts

    Koalafi says qualifying customers may be approved for up to $7,500 in lease-to-own. Okinus describes a typical maximum of about $8,000.

  • Early purchase

    One Koalafi retailer lists a 90-day early purchase option (at least 92 days in California), provided payments are on time. Okinus says you can buy early at any time by contacting it.

  • Product type

    Koalafi also offers loans issued by The Bank of Missouri. Okinus offers lease-purchase agreements only.

  • Credit checks

    Koalafi’s retailer disclosure says it performs a credit check. Okinus says decisions aren’t based on credit score, but applying authorizes consumer reports.

Sources: Okinus: Consumer FAQs; Okinus: How It Works; Okinus: Legal: service agreement and terms; Breeze Lease Purchase; Koalafi; Koalafi terms (Flynn’s Tire)

What they have in common

  • Neither gives you cash. The company buys the item from the store and leases it to you.
  • You don’t own the item until you pay in full or use an early purchase option.
  • The total usually costs more than the cash price. Compare the total cost to own, not the payment.
  • “No credit needed” doesn’t mean no credit information. Both use information from credit bureaus or consumer reporting agencies.
  • Both work only at partner stores. The store you shop at often decides which one you can use.
Compare the same itemAsk for a written quote from each option your store offers, then put both into our lease cost calculator.

Which one to choose

Okinus may fit better if…

  • Your store offers Okinus.
  • You need a slightly higher approval.
  • You want flexibility to buy out at any point.
  • You want an HVAC or water heater lease (through Breeze).

Koalafi may fit better if…

  • Your store offers Koalafi.
  • You can pay off within the 90-day window.
  • You might qualify for a Koalafi bank loan instead of a lease.
  • Your purchase is between $200 and $7,500.

Need cash rather than an item?

Lease-to-own companies pay the store, not you. For a bill like rent, a car repair or a medical cost, you need a loan. See emergency loans or installment loans, or request loan options below.

Common questions

What is Koalafi?

A company offering lease-to-own and lending through retailers. Its loans are issued by The Bank of Missouri; its leases are Koalafi’s own.

Source: Koalafi

How much can Koalafi approve?

Koalafi says qualifying consumers may be approved for up to $7,500 in lease-to-own.

Source: Koalafi

Does Koalafi have a 90-day option?

At least one retailer lists a 90-day early purchase option for Koalafi leases (a minimum of 92 days in California), available if all payments are made on time. Check your own agreement.

Source: Koalafi terms (Flynn’s Tire)

Does Koalafi run a credit check?

Yes. A Koalafi retailer disclosure says “No Credit Needed” does not mean no credit check, and that Koalafi performs one during its application.

Source: Koalafi terms (Flynn’s Tire)

Sources

Checked October 14, 2026
  1. Consumer FAQs, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
  2. How It Works, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
  3. Legal: service agreement and terms, Okinus Credit Solutions. Checked October 14, 2026.
  4. Breeze Lease Purchase, Breeze Lease Purchase (a division of Okinus Credit Solutions). Checked October 14, 2026.
  5. Lease-to-own and lending solutions, Koalafi. Checked October 14, 2026.
  6. Koalafi lease-to-own, Flynn’s Tire (Koalafi retailer). Checked October 14, 2026.